Mon, 01 Aug 1994

Jakarta rally drivers rule Palembang c'ship

JAKARTA (JP): Jakarta rally drivers ruled the third round of the national championship concluded in Palembang yesterday by taking the eight top places.

Unchallenged from the starting line on Saturday Tony Hardianto and navigator Ian Sujono, driving a Subaru Impreza, came out as the overall champions after plying a 706.01 kilometer stretch around South Sumatra's provincial capital. They clocked the fastest time of two hours 30 minutes and 26 seconds.

Ten of the 29 cars lined up at the starting point on the first day on Saturday failed to continue the grueling battle yesterday morning due to engine trouble before reaching the 10th Special Stage (SS) on Saturday night.

Oky Herwanto and Barototomo, who trailed the pace setters at the end of the first round, continued their onslaught to try take over take the lead.

Behind the steering wheel of their Mitsubishi Gallant VR4, Oky rated among the leading drivers on the national scene. However, he could not press further and had to be content for second place over all. They finished with a time of 2.33:07 hours.

Seventeen out 19 cars, competing in the full second and final leg of the race, crossed the finishing line yesterday.

Shendy Hariyadi and Lanang, driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution, placed third with a time of 2.33:27 hours. (rsl)

Final placings: 1. Tony Hardianto/Ian Sujono Subaru Impreza 2.30:26 2. Oky Harwanto/Barototomo Mitsubishi Galant VR 4 2.33:07 3. Shendy Hariyadi/Lanang Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 2.33:27 4. Irvan Gading/Karel Herilatu Subaru Legacy 4WD 2.33:50 5. John Agus/Stevie Gunari Ford Escort RS Cosworth 2.36:27 6. Marsha Ariobimo/Howard Davies Ford Escort RS Cosworth 2.41:36 7. Dandy Rukmana/Sebastian Ford Escort RS Cosworth 2.42:01 8. Reza Pribadi/Fredrik TM Subaru Legacy 4WD 2.42:23 9. Budiman/Pramuharjo Mitsubishi Galant VR4 2.43:47 10.Andri S.A/Syukur Alwan Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 2.45:00