Thu, 05 Oct 2000

Four excluded from PSSI core team

JAKARTA (JP): National soccer team head coach Nandar Iskandar has excluded four players from his core squad lineup for the 2000 Asian Cup in Lebanon next week.

The four players excluded are goalkeeper Sahari Gultom, Warsidi, Yaris Riyadi and a striker whom he would decide on later. But he added that the four players would still be taken to Lebanon as substitutes.

"They will replace players who sustain injuries during the match," Nandar was quoted by spokesman of the Soccer Association of Indonesia (PSSI), Eddi Elison, as saying on Wednesday.

Nandar would take a 22-strong team to the cup final. Indonesia joins the continent's soccer giants South Korea, China and Kuwait in Group B. The national team will meet Kuwait in the first group match on Oct. 13 in Tripoli, Lebanon.

He reached the decision after observing his players' performance against an amateur team from the Netherlands during a series of warm-up tournaments. The Indonesian team routed its practice partner 9-0.

Strikers, Bambang Pamungkas and Kurniawan Dwi Yulianto, midfielders, Seto Nurdiantoro and Uston Nawawi contributed two goals each while another striker Gendut Doni kicked one.

Nandar did not name the routed team but the match was played as a preparation for the Indonesian team's friendly match against first division A side Dordricht later on Wednesday.

During its upcoming match against Dordricht, Nandar said he had instructed his players to make rapid counterattacks and maintain a solid defense. He said he had encouraged his players to improvise.

He expressed hope that the tactics would work well because the other Group members were known for their speed and powerful play.

Indonesia will face the Netherlands' top club, NAC Breda in its third friendly match on Friday. (ivy)

Team lineup

Goalkeepers: Hendro Kartiko, I Komang Putra

Libero: Sugiantoro, Jet Donald Laala

Stopper: Eko Pujianto, Nuralim, Slamet Riyadi

Winger: Aji Santoso, Ismet Sofyan, I Putu Gede

Midfielder: Bima Sakti, Eduard Ivakdalam, Imran Nahumarury, Seto Nurdiantoro, Uston Nawawi

Striker: Bambang Pamungkas, Gendut Doni Ch., Kurniawan Dwi Yulianto, Rochy Puttiray