Thu, 13 Oct 2011

From: The Jakarta Post

By From: The Jakarta Post
The Investment Coordinating Board (BKPM) named seven provinces as the top destinations for investment out of 26 provinces evaluated on Wednesday.

The “regional champions” are Aceh, Central Java, West Kalimantan, South Sulawesi, Central Sulawesi, North Sulawesi and West Sumatra.

They were deemed the most investor friendly, based on a number of indicators related to the regions' preparedness in welcoming investors.

The competition excluded last year's champions, namely Riau, South Sumatra, West Java, East Java, East Kalimantan, West Nusa Tenggara and Papua.

“We realize that the levels of difficulty and challenges faced by each region are different. It is thus only reasonable that there are different approaches in improving investment climates in different regions,” BKPM head Gita Wirjawan said during the awarding ceremony of the “Investment Award 2011” in Jakarta on Wednesday.

Awards were also granted to Riau's Rokan Hulu and Indragiri Hulu regencies and South Sumatra's Ogan Komering Ilir regency as best providers of “one-stop” services for investors in the municipal/regency category.

The licensing-service offices of the South Sulawesi town of Pare-pare, the Riau town of Dumai and the Central Java town of Surakarta, meanwhile, were named best investment service providers in the office category,